Coeur d'Alene Tribal Members Elect Leaders

Nilson, Campbell elected to three-year terms; Allan will continue as Chairman

Heather Keen, Coeur d'Alene Tribe

Plummer, Idaho – Over the weekend, Coeur d'Alene tribal members cast their votes to fill two positions on the Coeur d'Alene Tribal Council. Incumbent Charlotte Nilson and Leta Campbell were elected to serve on Tribal Council. Both women have a significant amount of previous experience serving on Tribal Council.

Nilson has served on Tribal Council since 2007 and was re-elected to serve a fourth consecutive term. Campbell has also previously served three terms on Tribal Council and works for the Tribe's Benewah Medical Center.

Councilman Alfred Nomee stepped down from his position on Tribal Council, choosing not to run for reelection after two terms. On Monday, Chairman Chief Allan thanked Nomee for his service. "Alfred has dedicated so much time and energy over the past six years to represent our Tribe and move us in a positive direction. His commitment to doing what is right for our Tribe will not be forgotten and we wish him the best," said Allan. Nomee will continue to work for the Tribe in his current position as Natural Resources Director.

At the swearing-in ceremony, the Tribal Council also selected its executive officers. The seven-member Council unanimously re-elected Chief J. Allan to another year as the Chairman of the Tribe, a position he has held since 2005. "I really am blessed to be able to work on behalf of my Tribe year after year and stand before you humbled to serve another year as Chairman," said Allan of his chairmanship. Ernie Stensgar will retain the position of Vice Chairman of the Tribal Council and Donald Sczenski will continue to serve as the Tribal Council's Secretary.

There are seven people who serve on the Coeur d'Alene Tribal Council. Elections for the Coeur d'Alene Tribal Council take place every May. The terms are staggered and no more than three positions are up for election each year. The candidates who receive the highest number of votes are elected to Tribal Council for a three year term. On the Monday following each year's election, the newly organized Council votes to select a Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary/Treasurer to serve a one year term.